Vale of Clwyd

A constituency created in 1997 from Clwyd North West. The name is a bit of a give away, it follows the valley of the river Clwyd from the rural inland to the sea and its resort towns. It consists of the resort towns of Rhyl and Prestatyn but has a more Welsh rural Welsh speaking hinterland with the county town of Denbigh and the historic cathedral city of Saint Asaph. The sea side towns have attracted many with the opportunity of seasonal work but have also attracted people with many social problems,  West Rhyl has been described as one of the  most deprived areas in Wales.

It’s a seat that on paper is highly marginal with the Conservatives having quite strong representation on Denbigh County Council. Despite this Labour have held the seat since its formation in both general and Assembly elections with the Conservatives a strong second.  A notable political happening took place in Rhyl during the 2001 election John Prescott  the then Deputy Prime Minister punched a demonstrator for throwing an egg at him.

2015 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Davies, James Conservative 13,760 39.02
 Ruane, Chris Labour 13,523 38.35
Davis-Cooke, Paul UKIP 4,577 12.98
Rowlands, Mair Plaid Cymru 2,486 7.05
Williams, Gwyn Liberal Democrat 915 2.59

Conservative Majority 237 (0.67%) 3.87% swing Labour  to Conservative

Electorate 56,505 Turnout: 35,261 (62.4%)

2011 Assembly election result

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Jones, Ann Labour 11,691 50.71%
Gunning, Ian Conservative 7,680 33.31%
Lloyd Jones, Alun Plaid Cymru 2,597 11.26%
Prydderch, Heather Liberal Democrat 1,088 4.72%

Turnout: 23,056 (41.00%)

Labour hold 4,011 majority

 2010 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
 Ruane, Chris Labour 15,017 42.3
Wright, Matt Conservative 12,508 35.2
Penlington, Paul Liberal Democrat 4,472 12.6
Jones, Carol Wyn Plaid Cymru 2,068 5.8
Si’Ree, Ian BNP 827 2.3
Turner,Tom UKIP 515 1.4
Butler, Mike Green 127 0.4

Electorate 55,781 Turnout: 35,534 (63.70%)

Assembly Member

Ann Jones (Labour) was elected to the Assembly in 1999. She is currently the chair of the Children, Young People and education and sits on another two committees namely the committee for the Scrutiny of the First Minister and the Finance committee.

Her political interests include education, tourism, community safety, regeneration, social policy and the Emergency Services.

Jones was educated in Rhyl, and was a Rhyl Town Councillor and a Denbighshire County Councillor, as well as a Fire Brigade Union Official. For many years she served on the Welsh Executive Committee. Since the start of the Fourth Assembly, Jones has been Chair of the Assembly Labour Group.

Member of Parliament

James Davies (Conservative) was elected to Parliament in 2015.