Dwyfor Meirionydd

It’s a seat that was established by the Boundary Commission for the 2010 general election and replaced Meirionydd Nant Conwy. It is wholly in the County of Gwynedd. A mouninous and isolated area, the seat covers the whole of the Llyn penisula and most of the Snowdonia National Park and the wonderful landscape of the  slate-mining town of Blaenau Ffestiniog. Some of the other main towns include Bala, Criccieth, Harlech Porthmadog and Pwllheli.

It is Plaid Cymru’s safest seat in Wales indeed could be described as its hearland. Plaid gained the seat in1974 when Dafydd Elis-Thomas defeated Labour’s Wil Edwards and has held the seat ever since.

It is a sparsely populated rural constituency  and has the highest proportion of Welsh speakers than any other part of Wales with 69% of the population speaking the language.

A higher share of the population in the area (27 per cent) than in Wales (21 per cent) is of retirement age

With such natural beauty it is a magnate to tourism which with agriculture, are the main industries. It also had a nuclear power station in Trawsfynydd for a number of years, this has now been de-commissioned.

It can claim the final resting place of former Prime Minister David Lloyd George in Llanystumdwy where there’s a museum dedicated to him.

2015 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Roberts, Liz Saville Plaid Cymru 11,811 40.85
Fairlamb, Neil Conservative 6,550 22.65
Clarke, Mary Griffiths, Labour 3,904 13.5
Gillibrand, Chris UKIP 3,126 10.81
Hughes, Louise Independent 1,388 4.8
Churchman, Steve Liberal Democrat 1,153 3.39
Fothergill, Marc Green 981 3.39

Plaid Cymru majority 5,261 1.92% swing Plaid Cymru to Conservative

Electorate 44,395 Turnout: 28,913 (65.13%)

2011 Assembly election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Elis-Thomas, Dafydd Plaid Cymru 9,656 46.55%
Baynes, Simon Conservative 4,239 20.44%
Hughes, Louise Llais Gwynedd 3,225 15.55%
Singleton, Martyn Labour 2,623 12.65%
Churchman, Steve Liberal Democrat 1,000  4.82%

Turnout: 20,743 (46.44%)

Plaid Cymru hold 5,417 majority

2010 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru 12,814 44.3
Baynes, Simon Conservative 6,447 22.3
Humphreys, Alwyn Labour 4,021 13.9
Churchman, Steve Liberal Democrat 3,538 12.2
Hughes, Louise Independent 1,310 4.5
Wykes, Frank UKIP 776 2.7

Electorate 45,354 Turnout: 28,906 (63.73%)

Assembly Member

Lord Dafydd Elis-Thomas has been an Assembly Member since 1999. He was the first Presiding Officer of the National Assembly from the 12 May 1999 until the 11 May 2011 when he was succeeded by Dame Rosemary Butler. Before being the Assembly Member he was previously a Member of Parliament for the same seat from 1974 until standing down in 1992. Shorly afterwards he became a Life-peer sitting as a Cross-bencher, as his party at the time were refusing to take seats in the House of Lords. A policy that has since being dropped. He became a member of the Privy Council in 2004. He was a former Leader of Plaid Cymru but failed to regain the leadership in a contest with the current leader Leanne Wood in 2012.

Born in Carmarthen but raised in Llandysul and Llanrwst where his father was a non-conformist minister. Before entering politics he was a lecturer in History in Bangor University a University of which he is now President. He also is a member of the governing body of the Church in Wales.

Member of Parliament

Liz Saville Roberts  was elected in 2015 taking over from Elfyn Llwyd who retired.