Delyn constituency was created in 1983 from the seats of Flintshire West and Flintshire East. When first established the seat was won by Keith Raffen for the Conservatives. But in 1997,when Tory-leaning Prestatyn was taken out of the constituency and put into the Vale of Clwyd seat the seat was won by Labour. It has remained Labour ever since. It could be described as a semi-marginal seat, in a very good year the Conservatives could win it.

Its part of the Flintshire Council area and the main centres of population are Mold which is the administrative centre of Flintshire, Holywell, Flint, Bagillt and Mostyn.

Flint had the distinction of having the oldest town charter in Wales dating back to 1284. It was where Edward I built his first castle as part of the ‘iron ring’ of castles to dominate the native Welsh.

It is numerous industries – once time had the Point of Ayr colliery but this has been replaced with a large gas terminal for the Liverpool bay field. Wings for the Airbus are shipped through the port of Mostyn.

2015 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Hanson, David Labour 15,187 40.55
Isherwood, Marc Conservative 12,257 32.72
Williams, Nigel UKIP 6,150 16.42
Rowlinson, Paul Plaid Cymru 1,803 4.81
Rippeth, Tom Liberal Democrat 1,380 3.68
Roney, Kay Green 680 1.82

Labour majority 2,930 (7.2%) 0.84% swing Conservative to Labour

Electorate 53,639 Turnout: 37,457 (69.83%)

2011 Assembly election result

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Mewies, Sandy Labour 10,695 46.11%
Wright, Matt Conservative 7,814 33.69%
Harper, Connie Plaid Cymru 2,918 12.58%
Jones, Michele Liberal Democrat 1,767 7.62%

Turnout: 23,194 (42.96%)

Labour hold 2,881 majority

2010 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Hanson, David Labour 15,083 40.8
Sandback, Antoinette Conservative 12,811 34.6
Brereton, Bill Liberal Democrat 5,747 15.5
Ryder, Peter Plaid Cymru 1,844 5.0
Matthys,Jennifer BNP 844 2.3
Haigh, Andrew UKIP 655 1.8

Electorate 53,470 Turnout: 36,984 (69.17%)

Assembly Member

Sandy Mewies (Labour) was first elected to the Assembly in 2003. She is currently an Assembly Commissioner and sits on the Public Accounts committee. She has chaired the Assembly’s European and External Affairs Committee and the Communities and Culture Committee. She has also served on the Social Justice and Regeneration Committee, the Environment, Planning and Countryside Committee and North Wales Regional Committees.

She was a County Borough councillor in Wrexham for 16 years, serving as deputy leader and chair of Social Services. In 2001 she was Mayor of Wrexham. She was a member of the Wales European Centre and the North Wales Probation Board.

Before entering politics, Sandy’s main career was in journalism, but she also worked in the voluntary sector and as a lay schools inspector.

Sandy Mewies is married and lives near Holywell with her family.  She is a graduate of the Open University.

Member of Parliament

David Hanson (Labour) was first elected in 1992. He served as PPS to Alister Darling in 1997-2001 and then Tony Blair from 2001-2005. He became Minister of State for Northern Ireland 2005-2007, Minister of State for Justice 2007-2009, Minister of State for Security and Counter-Terrorism 2009-2010.

From 11 May 2010 he has been the shadow police and justice minister and is nowdeputy to Ed Balls as shadow Treasury Minister.

Hanson is originally from Liverpool  went to Hull UniversityHe worked in the voluntary sector before becoming an MP. He was elected as a councillor to Vale Royal Borough Council Chesire in1983 becoming the Labour group and council leader in 1989 until 1991 when he stood down to fight Delyn at the 1992 election.

He is married with 4 children.