Arfon is a new seat, replacing the old seat of Caernarfon.The seat is made up of two parts the old Plaid Cymru stronghold of Caernarfon  and from the Conwy constituency Bangor and its hinterland. This  far North-West of Wales seat, faces Anglesey across the Menai Strait. The new seat  loses more rural Welsh speaking areas, and becomes a Labour/Plaid Cymru marginal.

The main towns and cities in the constituency are Bangor and Welsh-speaking Caernarfon, the site of Caernarfon castle where Prince Charles was invested as Prince of Wales in 1969. The South of the constituency stretches into Snowdonia National Park, with the peak of Mount Snowdon lying just inside the constituency border.

The old seat of Caernarfon had been held by Plaid Cymru for about 25 years. First by Dafydd Wigley and more latterly by Hywel Williams. The Conwy seat had been held since 1997 by Labour. But with the University being a magnate for welsh speaking students there is a healthy Plaid Cymru vote in Bangor despite it being seen as a Labour City.

But its most famous representative was David Lloyd George who held the seat until 1945. He started his career as an advocate of Home rule and ended it accepting a seat in the House of Lords. The seat was then taken over by Goronwy Roberts, Labour until Dafydd Wigley’s victory in1974.The seat has a high number of Welsh speakers.

2015 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru 11,790 43.93
Pugh, Alan Labour 8,122 30.26
Barry, Anwen Conservative 3,521 13.12
Wall, Simon UKIP 2,277 8.48
Mohammed, Shultan Liberal Democrat 718 2.68
Jones, Katherine Socialist Labour 409 1.52

Plaid Cymru majority 3,668 (13.67%)  4.04 swing Labour to Plaid Cymru

Electorate 410,492  Turnout: 26,837 (66.28%)


2011 Assembly election result

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Jones, Alun Ffred Plaid Cymry 10,024 56.75%
Rees, Christina Labour 5,321 26.23%
Davies, Aled Conservative 2,209 12.51%
Jones, Rhys Liberal Democrat 801 4.53%

Turnout: 17,664 (42.99%)

Plaid Cymru hold 5,394 majority

2010 General election results

Party Votes Cast Percentage
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru 9,383 36
Pugh, Alan Labour 7,928 30.4
Millar, Robert Conservative 4,416 16.9
Green, Sarah Liberal Democrat 3,666 14.1
Williams, Elwyn UKIP 685 2.6

Electorate 41,198  Turnout: 26,078 (63.3%)

Assembly Member

Alun Ffred Jones (Plaid Cymru) A former TV director and Producer as well as a journalist. He was instrumental in bringing the most successful Welsh comedy to the screen “C,mon Midfield” Before entering the Assembly in 2003 he was the Plaid Cymru leader of Gwynedd County Council. In the Labour Plaid Cymru government he was Minister for Heritage, Sport and the Welsh language. He has announced that he’s standing down in 2016.

Member of Parliament

Hywel Williams (Plaid Cymru) Elected to Parliament in 2001 taking over from Dafydd Wigley. He is a psychology graduate and worked as a social worker and then a lecturer in Bangor University where at the time he was responsible for many initiatives using the Welsh language in social work. He is spokesperson in the Commons for his party on most of the social issues.